2017 MercedesTrophy Dealer Golf Day


The annual Ingham Prestige MercedesTrophy Dealer Golf Day was hosted at the St Andrews Hamilton Golf Club in Hamilton regarded as the premier golf course in the Waikato Region on Friday 10th March, 2017.
The field comprised an exclusive group of loyal Mercedes-Benz owners with a passion for golf. The eligible Mercedes-Benz owners were all vying for the opportunity to represent the dealership at the MercedesTrophy New Zealand National Final, which will be staged at Millbrook Resort in Queenstown, from 28 – 30 April 2017.
Golfer numbers on the day were down compared with previous years. The weather bomb created havoc around the Waikato region with golfers choosing to stay safe off the roads. The tournament however was successfully staged in time. Within an hour of prizegiving the course was flooded.
One of the highlighted of the day was the ‘Hole in One’ by Carl Prescott (Waitomo) on the 18th hole.
After 18 holes of competition, the three winners were announced at the prize giving ceremony. Winner on the day with 40 points was Patricia Gutry from Waikare Golf Club. Patricia had recently taken up lessons with kiwi golfing legend Marnie McGuire and her lessons were now starting to pay off. In runner-up place was Brad Chibnall (Riverside) with 39 points, winning on countback from Larry Olsen also from Riverside.
The full list of daily prize winners as follows:
Mens Division 1 (HCP 0 - 18)
1st Place:                     Geoff Burgess (Hamilton) 38pts
Runner-up:                   John Dobson (Hamilton) 36pts
Mens Division 2 (HCP 19 - 36)
1st Place:                     Tony Renwick (Hamilton) 38pts
Runner-up:                   Phil Longville (Hamilton) 37pts
Women’s Division (HCP 0 - 36)
1st Place:                     Kathy Knutson (Hamilton) 35pts
Runner-up:                   Karen Chibnall (Hamilton) 34pts
Straight Drive, winning a $500 Trelise Cooper Voucher: Jon Webb        
Near to Pin winners: John Thompson, Tony Renwick, Carol Thompson
We would like to take this opportunity to thank all participants for a wonderful day on the course, and wish our three winners the best of luck as they represent the Dealership at the MercedesTrophy National Final.